The music that is most important and memorable in my life is 80’s thrash and speed metal. I love all kinds of music but I love hardcore metal music new and old. But 80’s metal is most memorable because that is what I grew up listening to. I was born and raised in Southern California where thrash metal bands were making a name for themselves such as Metallica, Megadeth, Slayer, and Anthrax. My dad was a true metalhead who used to have long hair like everyone did in the 80’s. Anytime he would take me to school he always had something like Metallica, Iron Maiden, Judas Priest, Motorhead, Dio, Megadeth, etc. playing in the car. I began to enjoy the music, I really loved the aggresive edgy feel too it. Bands like Metallica, Megadeth, Slayer, and Anthrax have had a huge influence on metal bands today like Slipknot, Lamb of God, Five Finger Death Punch, etc. I think the thrash and speed metal from the 80’s was important in shaping the metal we have today. My dad loves all kinds of metal and when he was my age he worshipped the metal during his time the same way I do with the metal of my time. My dad’s favorite band in college was Iron Maiden which he saw in concert about 6 or 7 times, he first saw them on the Killers tour back in 1981, Killers was their second album released at the time. I saw Iron Maiden about 4 years ago with my dad and I thought they were great but they were probably not as good as they were back in the day. I am thankful to have a dad that listens to such awesome music and I hope when I have kids someday they will like the same kind of music.

